to May 6

Contemporary Art Month Perennial Exhibition 2018

Opening Thursday, March 22nd, 2018 at Artpace

Artpace & Contemporary Art Month (CAM) are excited to announce their partnership for the 2018 CAM Perennial Exhibition. The 2018 CAM Perennial pairs artists in a cross-cultural exchange between San Antonio and the Canary Islands. The artists were chosen by Canary Islands-based guest curator Adonay Bermudez for an exhibition in Artpace’s Hudson Showroom.

2018 CAM Perennial Artists
San Antonio-based artists
-Hayfer Brea (Caracas, Venezuela, b. 1975)
-Barbara Miñarro (Monterrey, Mexico, b. 1994)
-Ethel Shipton (Laredo, Texas, b. 1963)

Canary Islands-based artists
-Luna Bengoechea (Gran Canaria, Spain. b. 1984)
-Francis Naranjo (Gran Canaria, Spain. b. 1961)
-PSJM, Cynthia Viera & Pablo San José (Spain b. 1973. & Spain, b. 1969)

View Event →
to Apr 22

Common Currents


In celebration of San Antonio’s Tricentennial year, six downtown artist-centric organizations: Artpace San AntonioBlue Star ContemporaryCarver Community Cultural CenterGuadalupe Cultural Arts CenterMexican Cultural Institute San Antonio and Southwest School of Art, will partner to present an exhibition that will illuminate the 300 years of their hometown’s history. Common Currents is a diverse, encyclopedic showcase of San Antonio’s history as retold by more than 300 artists, invited to participate by their peers, and presented over 6 venues. 

Drawing on the connections or currents that run through San Antonio’s vibrant creative community, each of the organizing partners began by inviting two artists. These initial artists were then asked to invite two peer artists, until more than 300 were amassed. All of the participating artists are assigned one year of San Antonio’s history to reflect on in the development of their work for Common Currents. This exhibition is presented chronologically through a variety of contemporary media across the six venues.

Artists featured at Southwest School of Art:
1818 Norma Jean Moore; 1819 Ruben Luna; 1820 Michelle Love; 1821 Lee Michael Peterson; 1822 Vesna Zrinski; 1823 Eric Mathis; 1824 Lauri Jones; 1825 Nancy L. Oakley; 1826 Meredith Dean; 1827 Junye Butler; 1828 Claire Rhodes Stevensen; 1829 Carolina G. Flores; 1830 Eden Collins; 1831 James Hendricks; 1832 Juan Zavala-Castro; 1833 Carra Garza; 1834 Andrea Reyes; 1835 Daniela Riojas; 1836 Andrea "Andi" Rivas; 1837 Frank J. Leal, Jr.; 1838 Rafael Gutierrez; 1839 Bill FitzGibbons; 1840 Jose Villalobos; 1841 Anthony Rundblade; 1842 Antonia Padilla; 1843 Aaron Alton Waiters, Jr.; 1844 Joshua Perez; 1845 Barbosa Prince; 1846 Lori Hernandez; 1847 Gene Elder; 1848 Susie Monday; 1849 Ana Fernandez; 1850 Chris Castillo; 1851 Kimberly Garza; 1852 Carina Hiscock; 1853 Alba DeLeon; 1854 Kim Bishop; 1855 Adria Garza, 1856 Bárbara Miñarro; 1857 Rex Hausmann; 1858 Lauren Mojica; 1859 Naomi Wanjiku Gakunga; 1860 Houston Fryer; 1861 Joey Faureso; 1862 Susan Oaks; 1863 Ben Mata; 1864 Timothy Craig Lefkowitz; 1865 Steven DaLuz; 1866 Gaby Borrego; and 1867 Gary Sweeney.

In partnership with Southwest School of Art, The Rivard Report and Asociacion de Empresarios Mexicanos invites its members to the opening reception of Common Currents on February 15 from 5:30 - 7:30. The reception will include appetizers, beer & wine as well as an exclusive talk by Chad Dawkins, Director of Exhibitions at Southwest School of Art, on the multi-venue exhibition celebrating San Antonio's Tricentennial.

View Event →